Maple Glazed Salmon

My family LOVES salmon so I’m always trying to find different and intriguing ways to prepare it.  This recipe is a take on my Brown Sugar Glazed Salmon, but since I was out of brown sugar I used real maple syrup and the outcome was amazing!

**Please try to find fresh, wild caught salmon.  It does make a difference and farmed salmon is really gross!!  (If you have ever visited a salmon farm you know what I’m talking about…Blech!!)

I could not find fresh, never frozen salmon so I used a frozen filet, which is fine as long as you thaw it thoroughly before you cook or you’ll get soggy, watery salmon!  Enjoy!  ~Janna

Ingredients:
1 Salmon filet (any kind of Salmon will work), skin on.   (My fillet was about 2 lbs and I cut it into 6 large pieces which gave me 6 5 1/2 oz portions.)
2 Tbs olive oil
2 Tbs real maple syrup OR brown sugar
3 Tbs Dijon mustard
1/2 tsp soy sauce
1 Tbs fresh grated ginger
1 Tbs water
Salt and pepper

Directions: 

Combine all ingredients, except salmon, into a small saucepan and whisk. Bring to a low boil, stirring constantly so the bottom doesn’t scorch.  Turn down and keep warm.
DSC_0176

After cutting salmon into desired portions, pre-heat an electric grill (George Foreman type) and spray with non-stick cooking spray.  You can also use an outdoor grill, if desired.  Rub each salmon portion with a little olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Grill salmon about 7 minutes on each side.  Once you put salmon on grill, refrain from moving it around!  It may break up the salmon and you wont get those pretty grill marks!DSC_0177

I plated my salmon on top of a simple green salad of iceberg lettuce, chopped green onion and tomato.  Add the warm glaze to salmon and drizzle some on the salad just before serving.  It’s that simple!!  ~Janna
DSC_0182

9 thoughts on “Maple Glazed Salmon

  1. Pingback: Maple Glazed Salmon « The Bare Ass Baker

  2. Pingback: Grilled Salmon with Homemade Tartar Sauce - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

  3. Pingback: 6 Quick Ways to Make Salmon | the truth should be free

Leave a Reply

