Simply Elevated BLT

I’m always looking for new variations on classic foods, I enjoy putting a twist on something original.  This one is a basic BLT, but this time I added flavored sea salt from Old City Salts.  You may question adding salt, since the bacon is pretty salty in itself, but I, for one, love salt and it really brings out the flavor of the tomato.  It also lends a slightly spiciness to the sandwich.   Let me tell you, these salts are amazing and I LOVE their mission, to “simply elevate whole, fresh ingredients.”  So here it goes, my simply elevated BLT!!!  ~Janna

BLT


Ingredients
:

2 slices of good, hearty bread (My favorite is sourdough but in this case I used whole wheat)
1 Tbs mayonnaise
4 strips of cooked bacon
4 slices of a fresh, ripe tomato
2 leaves of lettuce, any variety
A pinch or two of smoked Serrano sea salt from Old City Salt

Directions:

Fry your bacon until brown and crispy.  Let it drain on paper towels and set aside.  Toast your bread and spread each slice with mayo.  Add your lettuce to one slice of the bread, making pieces about the same size as your bread.  I use lettuce first because it provides a barrier between tomato and bread, preventing sogginess.  Add your sliced tomatoes on top of the lettuce and sprinkle with your sea salt to taste.  Stack your bacon on top of the tomato, I usually cut my bacon in half so it fits nicely on the bread.  Top with other slice of bread and cut sandwich in half.  Enjoy!!

Old City Salts Facebook Page

Leave a Reply

